T Minus 6 Months

Beloved Friends,

It’s a privilege to write you again, and I pray that you are well. This month has been uniquely marked by relationship. It has been such a gift to see the ways that the Father has faithfully and graciously worked, and particularly encouraging in light of some of the specific areas that we have invested in through prayer. Thank you for your continued partnership. I hope that you are encouraged with me that his purposes are being accomplished.

Within my team as a whole, we have also had it on our hearts to intentionally cultivate a culture that welcomes the Holy Spirit and to live lives that are defined by his leadership. We want to be intentional with this season, and believe that he is doing some specific and intentional things in our midst. I would love to have your continued partnership in prayer for trust, love, and unity to flourish among us, and that our relationships with one another would be a witness to those around us of the Gospel.

I have also been encouraged by the opportunities I’ve had this month to continue to develop relationships with the girls and staff at my ministry. This month I had the opportunity to engage in some special ways, including intentional conversations and a fun outing, and was encouraged by their acceptance and reciprocation. The women we work with are so precious. Thank you for your sacrificial faithfulness in investing in their journey of restoration and freedom. Please also pray for some upcoming developments that we are working toward for increased effectiveness and impact.

In addition, this month we had our mid-internship retreat. It’s hard to believe that we have just about six months left before heading back to the U.S.! For our retreat, we met up with a couple staff members from our school, as well as some of our classmates from another internship site, and had the opportunity to enjoy fellowship with one another, teaching and reflection, and plenty of fun. I posted lots of pictures on Facebook if you’re interested; you can also see them here.

Lastly, we are continuing our research of the social structures within Thailand, as well as our study of the Thai language and the book of Galatians. This month, we have specifically focused on hierarchy and status, which is significant within Thai culture. Up until this point, we had primarily focused more on ascribed status; however, it was interesting to learn more about achieved status and the ability for someone to advance in their position. Parents often place a high value on their children becoming well-educated and getting jobs that pay well and are respectable within society. For example, many children are encouraged to become doctors, and learning English tends to be highly valued.

I am continuing to grow in my capacity to engage in conversation in Thai. This has been an area that is consistently challenging and rewarding. A couple weeks ago I had the opportunity to spend some time with a friend in a “language exchange.” We wanted to read the Bible together, so she practiced reading a passage in English, and then I practiced in Thai. There is something so neat about reading Scripture in another language. My comprehension is still greatly lacking for some of the vocabulary, but it was helpful to be able to recall the account in English as I attempted to understand what I was reading. Thank you for your continued support in this area; it has been such a blessing.

This week I was reminded of the gift of the Holy Spirit in our lives, and the call to rely on faith. What a precious gift we have received, that “he who began a good work in us will carry it on to completion” (Phil. 1:6)! I pray that you are renewed in the knowledge of the Holy Spirit’s work on your behalf – within and through you, and that you are strengthened in faith through the Word and promises of God. I’m grateful for you!

In Christ,

Kristen

“For no matter how many promises God has made, they are ‘Yes’ in Christ. And so through him the ‘Amen’ is spoken by us to the glory of God. Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He has anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come” (2 Cor. 1:20-22).

 

Thank you for praying…

Vision Trip: In a few months, my teammates and I will have the opportunity to take a week to explore another context of ministry, including a different kind of ministry and/or location within the region. This is designed to give us opportunity to explore potential interests for the future, as well as to give us greater exposure to the work that is being done around us. Please pray for wisdom and sensitivity to the Spirit as we begin planning for this time.

Relationships: I’m so grateful for how the Father is leading and providing in this way. There are many things on my heart with regard to relationships, and I would appreciate continued partnership for depth and direction.

Renewal & Intimacy with Christ: I don’t at all want to negate the opportunities I have had for sweet rest and refreshment, but I do want to ask for continued prayer for my heart. There are several areas that I feel consistently stretched in, and also know that there are dynamics of spiritual warfare. I want to be faithful and abounding in love.

4 thoughts on “T Minus 6 Months

  1. Thank you so much for the updates. I so enjoy praying for you and your group and watching each one of you depend more and more on the Lord. I could’t imagine life in this crazy world without the guidance of the Holy Spirit within me, as I am quite sure you feel the same way.
    I hope we will have an opportunity to talk a bit when you return to Wandering Circle.
    In the mean time, Bill and I continue to pray for each of you, but most especially for you.
    Love,
    SGW-B

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Shirley!

      Thank you so much for your encouragement and support. It means so much to me that you are “in my corner,” and I’m grateful for the privilege. Yes, reliance on the Holy Spirit has been a consistent theme that has been on my heart, and I’m so grateful for his leadership and grace in our lives.

      I look forward to getting to connect with you before heading back to Minnesota! I plan to send out details closer to, to ensure that I am able to hug and share with as many people as possible. It certainly helps that you live right down the street! 😉

      Thank you so much for praying for me and my team. He is listening!
      Love,
      Kristen

      Like

Leave a Reply

